The Cursed Key (The Cursed Key Trilogy #1) by Miranda Brock & Rebecca Hamilton

The Cursed Key
Miranda Brock & Rebecca Hamilton
(The Cursed Key Trilogy #1)
Published by: Evershade Publishing
Publication date: January 14th 2020
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

A forgotten past, a dark mage, and an unyielding curse.

Another team beat free-spirited archaeologist Olivia Perez to the dig of a lifetime, and now she’s left with the choice to wait for scraps or brave a dangerous, dusty tomb in hopes of finding other priceless artifacts. Her reward? A mysterious key she has no idea is cursed. Soon, Olivia realizes she’s brought home more than just an ancient rarity.

Malevolent visions begin to plague her. Unnerved by what they reveal, she casts away the key…unknowingly placing it into the waiting hands of a dark mage bent on destruction. Only when a shifter agent from the Paranormal Intelligence and Tracking Organization arrives searching for the key does Olivia realize what a huge mistake she’s made.

Forced to team up with the ill-tempered shifter, her journey to reclaim the cursed key leads down a twisting path of dark histories, dangerous magic, and deadly obstacles. But Olivia’s efforts to take back the ancient relic before the dark mage can destroy the lives of humans, shifters, witches, and fae alike are thwarted by her own dark past…and a price steeper than what she’s willing to pay.

Fans of Tomb Raider and Ilona Andrews will love the blend of urban fantasy, magical adventure, and paranormal romance in THE CURSED KEY from Miranda Brock and New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Hamilton!

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

Review:

The Cursed Key makes for a good start to the New Year for sure!

To be honest, at first I felt it was a little draggy and slow, but luckily for me, things picked up quite nicely and I was hooked; now I cannot wait for book 2 to be honest.  The books is centered around Olivia and her discovery of an archeological artifact well the Key and pretty much all that happens after that point.

As always, I am not going to go into too much details in terms of the story, but I can tell you that we have fans, shifters and evil mages all running around the planet.

We cover a few things in this book but I think if I am not mistaken this is a planned trilogy so though we learn a few tidbits about Olivia, there is a lot more to uncover, I am having an inkling of that it is, but I want to confirm my hunch to be honest before speaking out.  So if I get the chance to read and review the next books, I will have to come back and cover that.

Like I said, I first I was not overly excited about it as I was reading, because it felt a little heavy and slow, however after the into of the big bad and I am guessing the male lead Kael, things took a turn to the best; and I was honestly relieved because the blurb looked exactly what would make me happy and I was scared that I would not like it.

I say this, as you all know if you visit my blog often, I tend to prefer action packed when possible and fast paced adventures so to say, we all have different preferences, so I tend to prefer to be share mine, so that it makes sense.

I do think that you need to read The Cursed Key and decide how you like it from there.  I really enjoyed it and I hope you like it as much as I did. For this reason I am going to very much recommend The Cursed Key to you all and hopefully come back soon with book 2.  Do we have a release date already?

 

Author Bio:

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Hamilton writes urban fantasy and paranormal romance for Harlequin, Baste Lübbe, and Evershade. A book addict, registered bone marrow donor, and indian food enthusiast, she often takes to fictional worlds to see what perilous situations her characters will find themselves in next.

Represented by Rossano Trentin of TZLA, Rebecca has been published internationally, in three languages: English, German, and Hungarian.

Author links:
Website / Facebook / Twitter

From an early age Miranda Brock has always loved fantasy and adventure everything. Since she doesn’t live in a world of enchanting powers, mythical beasts, and things unbelievable she has decided to write about them. (Although, if you happen to see a dragon flying around, do tell her.) Born in southern Illinois, where she still resides with her husband and two children, she grew up running through the woods, playing in creeks, and riding horses. What started out as writing poetry grew into short stories and eventually led to her first novel, Souls Discovered. Miranda lives in the country where she finds inspiration in the simplicity and beauty around her. With the help of a ridiculous amount of coffee and some good music she writes whenever she gets a chance.

Author links:
Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Categories

%d bloggers like this: