Mackenzie Grey Trilogy by Karina Espinosa

Shift book 1:
It’s hard enough being an undergraduate student, an intern at Downtown Manhattan’s police station, and a bouncer at a local bar. Add her now ex-boyfriend who recently dumped her for the school’s resident bimbo—oh, and she’s a werewolf.

Mackenzie Grey meets her match when she is kidnapped by the Brooklyn Pack and tossed between Sebastian and Jonah—the Alpha and the Beta. Being a lone-wolf in the city is dangerous, and now that the Pack has found her, so can every supernatural being in the Tri-State area. And not even her sarcastic, smart mouth can get her out of this.

When a string of kidnappings involves Mackenzie in supernatural politics, she questions her new acquaintances and finds unlikely allies. Can she escape Pack law and keep her freedom—or will she be condemned to an unwanted path?

Caged book 2:
It’s hard out there for a lone-wolf.

Mackenzie Grey has started a brand new life in an attempt to escape the Brooklyn Pack. She settles in as a detective in a special unit of the LAPD when her identity is put at risk, and she has no choice but to run again. The question is: does she want to run forever?

As events force Mackenzie to confront her past, she is met with many surprises—including the revelation of her true ancestry. When Packs across the country learn of who she is, Kenz becomes the object of desire in a deadly wolf hunt, and she must once again fight to keep her freedom.

Witnessing first-hand the barbaric treatment of Lunas, Mackenzie has to make a choice—follow the prediction of her Vision Quest or let herself be CAGED…

Alpha book 3:

It’s hard being a Princess.

Mackenzie Grey never felt as vulnerable as she does now—but that won’t stop her from getting what she wants: revenge. Kenz and her friends journey to a new land where everyone has a motive and everyone is a suspect.
The Lunas find their voices after the massacre but question still stands—who is the real enemy? If Mackenzie wants to free herself, she will need to free them all; and it won’t be easy. As she approaches her 24th birthday—in the middle of a web of lies, deception, and murder—Kenz has to weave her way to the truth before she’s next on the chopping block.

With her companions, Mackenzie will make her final stand and change the course of the Lycan world forever…


I need to get this out of the way early and tell you all that I LOVED this series!!

In the spirit of openness, I am not big into shifter books or anything “were” related, that does not mean that I have not read books or seen movies with werewolves in them (that would be a lie) but I think we can count on the fingers of one hand the full werewolf related books that I have read.

However, what made me volunteer to read and review this series is the blurb intro to Shift (book 1) that you can see up top at the beginning of this blog post.  How was I supposed to resist?  For those of you who follow the blog, you know that I am always very much into my badass ladies and Mackenzie belongs to that group as well!

You give me a good blurb and I am a goner, and I can tell you right now if the first sentence of this review was not clear enough that I am so happy that I did read it and loved every single moment of it!

As I said, I do not read werewolf stories all that often, and though I am aware of the basics, I mean who isn’t I do not know the lore as in depth as I should like maybe for Vampires.  So we need to keep that in mind beloved readers as some elements did bug me, but could be very common concepts and part of how werewolves are usually portrayed.

So guys in terms of diving deep into Shifter romances and adventures this series is perfect!  I read this series in less than a couple of day when I was on my holidays and it was perfect!  I could not put it down, and I went back to back to back until I hit the last period in Alpha!

Mackenzie Grey is such a wonderful character, everything that I love in a leading lady. She is smart, independent and a total badass that can kick some serious bootay!

Whats not to love right?

We have drama in terms of the werewolves social structures, there is the fact that my girl Kenzie does not want to be part of a pack and we have two hotties gaga over her.

Oh yea, before I forget we have a cool vampire too!!

I love vampires….. so that made it all better!

I am not going to go too much into details concerning the overall plot across the series and the smaller things happening in each book, but the one things that slightly annoyed me is Kenzie’s inability to pick between the 2 McHotties.

I will be fair, I had a hard time picking which team I was rooting for and even asking me now, I could not tell you.  But!!!! And that is a big But, all I can say is that I approve of the one who supports her no matter how much it goes against his beliefs over the one who still wants to have her behave in a certain way.

I gave a lot here, but once you read it and for this you need to reach book 3, you will know what I am talking about and the tiny bit of frustration is that I would have hoped we had a final winner by book 3!

I mean come on….

I need closure here…

But, I do feel this was by design as I realized while I was reading book 3 that there was a book 4 in the making and this series was not a trilogy.  I have checked on GoodReads and it seems that Book 4 is the final one!

So a girl can dream and hope to see who Kenzie will end up with!

I mean now that I think about it, why am I so worried about who she will be dating?

The girl is a force to be reckoned with and I am annoyed over her love life….


What does that even mean?

Now that I think about it re-reading everything all I can say is that I got very much attached to Kenzie and her gang!  So much so that I am very emotionally invested in what happens to her!

There you have it my loves, this is an amazing series, I had so much fun reading it, and I got as you can see seriously addicted.  Me thinks it is cruel unusual punishment that I have to sit and wait like this for the conclusion…. Why???????? Why????????????

Ok me being overly dramatic aside, I am going to highly recommend this series and I am also going to dive into Karina’s other series as well!  The books are entertaining, easy to read and with a wonderful steady fast pace!

Seriously guys, I am going to say it again… what is not to love?


About the Author
Karina Espinosa is the Urban Fantasy author of the Sins of the Fallen series and the Mackenzie Grey novels, and a blogger for Infatuated with travel, pop culture, and the need to write everything down, she spends much of her days in front of a computer working on her next book, shopping online, and listening to music. With nomadic tendencies, she is currently resting her head in South Florida until the itch to move strikes again. You can usually catch her on Facebook, Instagram and live-tweeting during episodes of The Walking Dead and Orphan Black. Follow her on social media!


%d bloggers like this: